Click Here to Watch Basketball Live Matches for Free!

Incredible FIBA Basketball World Cup Records and Facts

FIBA World Basketball Championship, one of the most important sports organizations in the world, has striking statistics in its 60 years history.

The first organization was held in 1950. When we look at the history of the organization, we can see many interesting details and statistics. We are going to give important information about Basketball World Cup in this article.

According to the information, received from Basketball Federation; Brazilian basketball player Oscar Schmidt attracts attention as scorer name in the history of World Basketball Championship. Oscar Schmidt, who played in the championships in 1978, 1982, 1986 and 1990, scored a total of 916 points in 35 matches and broke a record. One of the most impressive statistics of the championship history belongs to South Korean Jae Hur. Jae Hur, South Korea’s top scorer in the 1990 FIBA World Basketball Championship in Argentina, scored a total of 62 points in the match when his country defeated Egypt 117-115.

Nikos Gallis from Greece got the title of the highest number average in the FIBA World Basketball Championship. Gallis played 10 matches in 1986 FIBA World Basketball Championship, which organized in Spain and scored 337 points. South Korean Pa Shin Dong was in the second place in this category with 268 points in 8 matches.

The most medal winning players of Basketball World Cup

Wlamir Marques and Kresimir Cosic, the legendary names of world basketball, are the most medal winning players of the World Basketball Championship. Brazilian player Marques received gold medal in the championships. He held 1959 and 1963 and silver medal in the championships held in 1954 and 1970. He has won this championship four times.

Yugoslavian Kresimir Cosic won the gold medal in championship of 1970 and 1978. He was the second in the championships held in 1967 and 1974. Sergei Belov and Brazilian Amaury Pasos from the Soviet Union shared the second place in the ranking of players who won the most medals in the history of the championship.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.